24
Jul
2008

Prevent Windows update from reminding you to reboot your computer

Microsoft WorldComments Off on Prevent Windows update from reminding you to reboot your computer





Bookmark and Share

vistaWindows Update is a Windows Vista feature which works in the background downloading the most important hotfixes from Microsoft in order to fix bugs and add services to your operating system. Nothing to say, Windows Update is a very useful application, but what about its annoying dialog pop up which reminds you that Windows can’t update important updates and service while the system is using them? Sometimes I think it has especially designed to bother people while they are working, since it appears when the only thing you need is working without anything or anyone harassing you. Anyway all this is going to change. Here is a little hack to stop it once for all.

  1. Click Start.
  2. In the Search bar type regedit and press Enter.
  3. Look for the following registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ SOFTWARE\ Policies\ Microsoft\ Windows\ WindowsUpdate\AU
  4. Right click in the right pane and create a new 32-bit DWORD called NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers
  5. Give NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsers the following value : 1 to prevent the system from automatic rebooting while users are logged on.
  6. Turn your computer off and back on to apply the change.



Related Articles Latest Articles
.

Comments are closed.


Copyright © 2007-2017 | Sitemap | Privacy | Back To Top
Best screen resolution 1280x800 or higher.
Web Talk is best viewed in Firefox.

Stat