How to Allow Someone to Manage and Read your Gmail Emails

GoogleComments Off on How to Allow Someone to Manage and Read your Gmail Emails

Bookmark and Share

Let someone to read your Gmail

A few days ago, Google rolled out an interesting feature which allows someone else to manage and read your private Gmail emails on your Gmail account. Such a feature is not new at all. In fact, it is available on Google Apps accounts, but Google has decided to extend this opportunity to Gmail accounts as well, thanks to the new Gmail delegation feature. But why would you like to let someone else  to gain access to your private Gmail? The reason is quite simple! Just image a situation where you don’t have access to the Internet, but you still need to read your emails and reply to some of them. If you do not wish to give your private password to somebody else because you think it is too risky, the only option you have got is to use Gmail Delegation feature that will allow  a person of your choice to get into your account, safely!  Of course,  you will be able to check what the guy did when you “were not there” and see, for example, how any times and when he signed into your Gmail account, thanks to a little link located at the bottom of your Gmail page which will show you the recent activity on your email account.  But, let’s see how to setup this new feature.

  1. Sign in to your Gmail account.
  2. Click the Settings link located on the upper-right side of your Gmail page.
  3. Now, click the Accounts and Import tab and under the grant access to your account section, click the Add another account link.
  4. A small window will popup on your screen. Fill in the black field with the email of the user you wish to grant the access to and click Next Step.
  5. At this point you should be able to see a confirmation message.
  6. Click Send email to grant access.
  7. You are done.
  8. The delegate will receive a message containing all the instructions on how to get access to your Gmail account. If he accepts,  it may take up to 30 minutes for the verification process to be completed. To see if the delegate has confirmed access to your account, look at the Accounts tab in Settings.

To know more about this feature and watch an interesting video which will explain you how, why and when to use Gmail delegation, visit this Mail.Google webpage.

Related Articles Latest Articles

Comments are closed.

Copyright © 2007-2017 | Sitemap | Privacy | Back To Top
Best screen resolution 1280x800 or higher.
Web Talk is best viewed in Firefox.